Bleecker Cooking School

PCooking

So I’ve been cooking since I was “knee-high to a grasshopper,” mainly out of necessity since I grew up in a single-parent house. In my teens, I would make dinner with my mom, then go and replicate it on a date of mine. Sometimes it would work … sometimes I would catch a girl’s hair on fire. Even though those relationships didn’t stick, my love of cooking and great food certainly did. When I went to college, I would offer to cook a meal for my friend, my dorm room, my hall, or faculty … as long as they bought the ingredients and I got to partake. It saved me more than once from starvation! And I was even a personal chef in Dallas 7 years ago while running my own small catering business. I loved every minute of it.

TableSetting

I guess we sometimes give up on our dreams to be “practical” and get a “real job,” don’t we? Well, that’s what I did when I dropped my cooking for a job at IBM. And for the last 7 years, I’ve been dibbling and dabbling with cooking at home, for friends, for Passovers, Thanksgiving, and Christmases. I love cooking and am now teaching cooking lessons and making private dinners. I’ve had several couples sign up in the last week, and I wanted to share the experience with you!

Cooking

My goal with each meal is to create a memorable experience for each couple, both with the ambiance and the food. You tell me the music, wine, and food you want for the night. I cater to what you love. I don’t just want you to like the food, I want the eyes rolled back followed by “How in the world did you make this so good?!” And I want you to know how simple it is to make great food.

Over the last few nights, I had a few couples over for a Valentine’s Day dinner. Here was the menu:Cocktail

Vodka Lime Cocktail with Fresh Muddled Mint

CheesePlate

Gourmet Cheese Plate (the full list of ingredients is below!)

Steak

Pepper-Crusted Filet Mignon with Blue Cheese dipping sauce

Sautéed Haricot Vert with Tarragon and Lime zest

Truffle Basil Parmesan Smashed Potatoes

DevilsFudgePie2

Devil’s Fudge Pie with Clotted Mint Cream

Coffee-infused Patron Dessert drinks

CheesePlate2

The Gourmet Cheese plate included:

1. Italian Parrano Originale Cheese with Gourmet Crackers, and sliced White Turkish Figs with Honey
2. Texas Buttermilk Blue Cheese with Gourmet Crackers and local Pecans
3. Organic Texas Cheddar Cheese Curd served 3 ways: with Paprika, Cayenne, and Poppy Seeds, served with sliced Pears and Organic Kiwi
4. Wisconsin Cranberry Cheddar with Gourmet Crackers, Tamari Almonds and Coconut shreds
5. Mini Babybel Sharp Cheddar loafs with Gourmet Crackers and local Cashews

Chris&Ashley

The nights went great! The couples learned a lot of practical cooking tips, they had great music going on (Corrine Bailey Rae, Sinatra, Ray Charles, Nora Jones mix) and they ate some great food! They also got to eat it quietly alone in our beautiful dining room, have great conversations, and not have to do any dishes!

If you want a night like this, I am teaching more classes (up to 10 people) where I teach how to cook and you sample. Leave a comment or shoot me an e-mail at: PhillipBleecker@gmail.com. Keep an eye on my blog for future courses, including “How to cook the perfect steak,” “The Art of Breakfast,” “Mixology – Making the best cocktails,” and even making healthy cooking taste great by showing you how to cook healthy food and eating all you want WHILE losing up to a pound a day.

Also, I am catering private dinners in my home or your home (up to 8 guests) as well. I currently have tomorrow night (Valentine’s Day) available, so shoot me an e-mail and let’s make the dinner you won’t soon forget!
Happy eating, everyone!

Leave a Reply

