College Street Bakery

Well, I’ve decided to put my toe in the water and start my own business. I am making pies! Any pie you can imagine or want, I can make. I used to be a chef in downtown Dallas and ran a catering business, and I am excited about this new venture, because all the proceeds go toward our adoption!

Below are a few of the pies with descriptions, but go to www.CollegeStreetBakery.com for all the pictures, details and information!

KEY LIME PIE WITH CINNAMON GRAHAM CRACKER CRUST

A great Key Lime Pie is difficult to find. Sure, you can go to many restaurants and see it on the menu, but they are usually too sweet (that’s the condensed milk), too sour (that’s the artificial lime juice) or too green (that’s the artificial food coloring). Did you know that lime juice is not green, not to mention neon green? Go figure….

KeyLimeWCream

I don’t use condensed milk, artificial lime juice or artificial food coloring. All of my ingredients are local, fresh, REAL and tasty.

You want fresh, tasty, light, ever-so-perfect lime and sweetness for your Key Lime Pie. You want your meringue cooked to perfection. You want unique, new spins on your favorite desserts, and yet familiar and comforting all at the same time. That’s what you get when you buy my Key Lime Pie.

I make my crust by hand with graham crackers, sugar, butter, and spices. I don’t use machines, so there may be variations and flaws, but that’s what it means to be human, right?

KeyLime

Also, instead of just thinking the meringue was enough, I went and topped it all off with whipped cream clumps frozen and then rolled in cinnamon, and then covered in a light dusting of powdered sugar and lime zest.

Salivating yet?

If you would like a pie, drop me an e-mail at CollegeStreetBakery@gmail.com or leave a comment. I’d be happy to whip one up for you.

STRAWBERRY PIE W/ HOMEMADE BUTTER CRUST AND SHAVED GODIVA CHOCOLATE.

StrawberryNoCrust

So summer is here, and that means we have to use what is in season for dessert … and that is a VERY good thing. We get to incorporate berries, fruit, and seasonal ingredients into our tasty after-dinner aperitifs.

Strawberry1

One great ingredient for pies is the Strawberry. Light, sweet, with a little sourness and texture, they are an ideal fruit to use when baking a pie.

If you have never had a Strawberry Pie, you are truly missing out. While it is easy to make this dessert too sweet (the Strawberry is a very sweet fruit), I’ve come up with a fool-proof system to make the perfect Strawberry pie.

It starts with  the dough crust – I make it from scratch and pre-cook it. Meanwhile, I take fresh, local strawberries, and blend them with other spices and ingredients to make a jam. Fresh sliced strawberries go on top of that, with a little lemon zest, and the crust goes on top and back into the oven.

strawberry

The end result is stunningly good. The sweetness of the strawberries are tempered with the buttery pie crust and the savory Godiva and Ghirardelli shaved chocolate on top.

I highly recommend this dessert while strawberries are still in season!

If you would like to order one, drop me an e-mail at CollegeStreetBakery@gmail.com or leave me a comment.

DEVIL’S FUDGE PIE W/ CINNAMON GRAHAM CRACKER WHIPPED CREAM

DevilsFudgePie

Everyone likes chocolate, right? Especially when it is covered in homemade whipped cream and fresh mint. Well, my Devil’s Fudge Pie is to die for! It is perfectly moist, crumbly, warm, gooey and chocolately! The perfect combination.
DevilsFudgeWhippedCreamBalls

And I took it to another level – I took whipped cream, froze it, rolled it into dollops, and rolled them in cinnamon and ground graham crackers. BAM! Dessert heaven. So when you have a warm slice of pie, drop one of these whipped cream dollops on top, and it will slowly melt over your pie. You’d think you died and gone to heaven!

BUTTERMILK COCONUT PIE WITH TOASTED COCONUT WHIPPED CREAM DOLLOPS

Buttermilk

This is truly one of my favorites, and it is a new recipe find for me. I got it from my sister-in-law. The idea of mixing buttermilk pie with coconut is a new one for me, but after I tasted this, I simply had to have the recipe.

It is buttery, smooth, with a coconut texture and a perfect balance of sweetness and savoryness. The warm, gooey center is simply amazing, and when you toast shredded coconut in the oven and roll them in frozen whipped cream … convection perfection!

If you would like one of these amazing desserts, simply e-mail me at CollegeStreetBakery.com or leave me a comment.

Buttermilk

Leave a Reply

