Jesus Study-Your Heart’s Treasure

WOTW_091815_gen.png“Don’t store up treasures here on earth, where moths eat them and rust destroys them, and where thieves break in and steal. Store your treasures in heaven, where moths and rust cannot destroy, and thieves do not break in and steal. Wherever your treasure is, there the desires of your heart will also be.”
Matthew 6:19-21

What is your treasure? Is it a physical one or a spiritual one?

I’ll be honest here. Most of my life I have worked and saved and spent time and effort amassing money and vacation time so that I can buy nice things so that I will be happier and feel better about myself. I’ve been trying this method for years. So much of my time is spent on storing up earthly treasures.

Jesus says that this is wrong and short-sighted. Life will be over soon and all the things that I’ve spent so much time and effort on will simply fade, rot, rust, or get stolen. They don’t last, and worse, they don’t satisfy even when I do get them. I get a little money, and I think, “If only I had a little more money, I could do this and that AND this! Then, I’ll be happy.” But I’m not. I’m throwing my money down an endless pit. What I really want is to be my own god, to create my own happiness. Money can take me further than most other things, but in the end it will fail me too.

What about you? How are you working and saving and spending your time and effort? Is it for God’s priorities and treasures, or is it for the here and now, your wants, your needs, your feelings?

The way to evaluate this is to see if your priorities are God’s priorities. So here is a short list of God’s priorities

448087553_1280.jpgMatthew 25:35-40 – Jesus said, “For I was hungry, and you fed me. I was thirsty, and you gave me a drink. I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home. I was naked, and you gave me clothing. I was sick, and you cared for me. I was in prison, and you visited me.’ “Then these righteous ones will reply, ‘Lord, when did we ever see you hungry and feed you? Or thirsty and give you something to drink?  Or a stranger and show you hospitality? Or naked and give you clothing?  When did we ever see you sick or in prison and visit you?’

“And the King will say, ‘I tell you the truth, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were doing it to me!’

James 1:27 – “Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you.”

Romans 13:10 – “Love does no wrong to a neighbor; therefore love is the fulfillment of the law.”

Micah 6:8 – “He has told you, O man, what is good; And what does the LORD require of you But to do justice, to love kindness, And to walk humbly with your God?”

Deuteronomy 10:12 – “Now, Israel, what does the LORD your God require from you, but to fear the LORD your God, to walk in all His ways and love Him, and to serve the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul”

Jesus says that we must invest in heavenly treasures and eternal rewards. How do we do this? And what is eternal? God is eternal. We are to make Him our treasure, our heart’s desire! For where my treasure is, there is my heart also. Jesus was clear about this. The greatest command in the Bible is this: Love God will all your heart, soul, and mind.When we do this, all other things fall into place, I have the right perspective on money and time and treasure, God becomes my joy and satisfaction, not things. I become free with my money because it is no the source of my happiness, but God is. And God says the last will be first, the lowly will be exalted, the poor will become rich, and the servant will be given praise.

635837313609880257-2106495333_bgz-blog-are-you-happy.jpg

Are you happy? I mean, deep down, when no one is looking, are you satisfied? Jesus tells us that He came to give us life, full life. Only He can satisfy our souls, our deepest longings, our fickle hearts. He created our hearts, and are hearts are restless until they find their rest in Him.

Make Jesus your treasure. Stop pursuing more and more of the things and stuff that don’t satisfy you now. A better car, house, spouse, or more money, vacation, or stuff. Only Jesus can fill the void in your heart. Only Jesus is sufficient to satisfy you deepest longings and hopes.

Leave a Reply

