Jesus word study – money and God

“Your eye is like a lamp that provides light for your body. When your eye is healthy, your whole body is filled with light. But when your eye is unhealthy, your whole body is filled with darkness. And if the light you think you have is actually darkness, how deep that darkness is! No one can serve two masters. For you will hate one and love the other; you will be devoted to one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and be
enslaved to money.

“That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing? Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?

“And why worry about your clothing? Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you
have so little faith?”

Hand-of-God_money.jpgMy eyes are the filter that everything has to go through. What I see and how I choose to act on it can change my mind, sway my emotions, and impact my heart. So the question is: WHAT AM I KEEPING MY EYES ON? The answer: My treasures, what is valuable to me, what motivates and drives me. And think about this: If our treasures are actually evil things and not godly things, we are filled with evil and darkness.

Jesus is saying that most people make an idol of money or the things money can bring – comfort, security, pleasure, etc. But He says that you and I cannot serve them both. I will love one and hate the other. So the bigger question is: “DO I HATE THE IDOL OF MONEY IN MY LIFE, or DO I SERVE THE IDOL OF MONEY? The way to answer this is to look at how you spend your money. Does it all get spent on you, or are you free with your money? Do you give it away, are you generous? If money has not hold on my heart, I am free to give it away.

0e2844003_1390874616_do-not-be-anxious-slide.jpgJesus knows that we struggle with anxiety every day. Don’t you? Since Jesus wants me to serve God and not money, He tells me that I don’t need to be anxious about my life. The Bible says that my anxiety is directly connected to my faith and trust in God. Imagine not having anxiety about life! Does Jesus actually mean this? Can I truly have a life without anxiety? The Bible says that we can.  And then he asks two questions: “Isn’t life more than food and the body more than clothing?” Yes, it is. So, stop focusing on money. God provides for every creature to eat and live, the birds of the air and even the flowers of the field. Aren’t we more valuable than birds and flowers? And therefore won’t God provide for me that much more? Of course He will. He is in control of my life, not me. He can pour out or withhold. God is rich and can provide for the needs of every person on this earth.

326f8028f8e39b24b66422a0b24644fc.jpg

Do I believe and live as if God is in control, that He loves me, as if He is my treasure? Is God your treasure? In the same way you can test your heart to see if money controls you, you can test to see if God is your treasure. If I am anxious, God is not my treasure. What are you anxious about? Those are my treasures. What do you spend your thoughts, money, time and energy on? Those are your treasures. Those who seek after money, power, appearance, and temporal, fading things do not treasure God, but they are also always anxious because they are chasing fleeting, fading, dying, temporal things. Those who seek after God, His glory, His Name, His praise, His kingdom are generous with their time, money and knowledge. They give it away. They seek heavenly, eternal, permanent things, and therefore they do not need to be anxious because God is in control and cannot lose the battle.

Tim Keller said that when we go from being unsaved to being saved, we go from fighting a battle we cannot win to fighting a battle we cannot lose. Do you live as if God has won the battle over sin, death, hell and the grave? If so, you can trust God with your money. You can afford to spend more time, energy, emotion and thought on God.

God,

Help me with my anxiety! Help me to have more faith, believing that you will do what you say you will do. Cause me to make you my treasure and joy. Help me to hate the idol of money in my life and cause me to love you more and more. Be the center, the focus of my life. Be my treasure and hope. Calm my anxiety with your provision and presence. Give me a peace that passes all understanding. In all my ways let me acknowledge You so that You may direct my path. Drown my idolatry with thankfulness. Focus my heart and eyes on how abundantly You have blessed me and provided for me. Command my heart to be thankful in my words and in my heart. Give me a thankful heart, Lord. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

